Things To Do When You Need Hope

Someone asked me what I do when I need hope and I made a list.

  • If it’s not a temporary feeling, I talk to someone and tell them what I’m worrying about and I actually let them comfort me, soothe me or just say kind things and I try not to argue because that’s not the point. Just let them cheer you up/help you.
  • Sometimes people may not be available or I might not feel comfortable enough to share something. So I use affirmations and talk to myself.

I say: “It’ll be fine. It always works out. I’ll manage. I’ll deal with it. It’ll be better than I imagine. I trust that it will be okay.”

  • The next one is my magic trick: I read children’s books. I have some favorites which give me the “I can do anything” feeling that only children books can give to you. When I was younger (even during college) I used to read them whenever I was scared or I needed comfort. Especially children books that deal with fear and loneliness help because they speak to the scared part of you. People write them with so much love and hope because it’s mostly the story they think the children need to hear the most. It’s almost like they speak to themselves in a compassionate way, so you’ll mostly find that kind of softness and imaginative support in them along with the honest advice. (I’ll post a book list later, even though a part of me doesn’t want to share them out of some silly posessiveness. I’ll try to resist that.)

Greetingsong-graphicsfairy005b

  • Another thing I do is watch something that makes me laugh. I watch the bloopers of a favorite show or a movie, I read funny posts (usually on tumblr), I read recaps by people who make me laugh. I write things to make other people laugh, which helps greatly because knowing you’re making people feel better is a very healing action for yourself as well. You can do something different for others. Anything nice.
  • I go out or if I can’t, I just sit by the open window and watch outside. Looking at the sky and watching birds and breathing in fresh air definitely makes you feel better. Focus on your breathing and soothe yourself, give yourself hope. Talk to yourself as if you’re talking to someone you love. That should be the norm. (It takes time but it’s possible.)
  • I do something that I’m good at. What is that for you? Singing? Drawing? Writing? Cooking? Making someone laugh? Cuddling up with your pet? Organizing things? Brushing your hair and teeth? Doesn’t matter what you do. Remind yourself you can do things. Focus on what you can do. Let it comfort you.
  • I remind myself it’s okay to feel bad sometimes. It’s just a feeling. I won’t let it push me down. It’s useless to be afraid of what I can’t control. If I let myself get carried away, there is no end to thinking of bad things that could happen, you know? Sometimes I let it happen and it’s exhausting. You might need help to deal with that. It’s okay. You don’t have to handle all that on your own. If you need help with anxiety, overwhelming sadness and worry, please ask for help. Hope is when you remember it’s worth it. Remind yourself that.

Support the site at Patreon

Follow me at @OzgeBurcakA

Subscribe to my newsletter


 

