Why The 100 is Promising

7c1a49fb8bcb440ac4a5207e70d61926

Image Credit: The CW

My recaps/essays on The 100 are on the way and my love for this show will be told in great depth, that I can tell you.

But for now I just want to say that I’m so happy about the honesty of the creators and writers of this show. The relationships can have fans rooting for them but the writers refuse to reduce the show and the characters to romantic ships alone. They will continue writing a quality story about survival and showing us realistic people with complicated relationships instead of giving us fanservice to keep us happy and sedated. And that is true respect for the audience and the story itself. They won’t compromise and that’s the best thing this show has to offer us.

So what it means that we have a chance to be surprised instead of spoiled. We might still get what we’d like to see but maybe not as quickly or in the ways we want it.

It’s also worth remembering that even though we all tend to have a blinding hunger for more romance, some relationships and characters still have value even if the context they exist in isn’t romantic. The interactions and what these characters bring in each other is worth looking forward to no matter how they end up.

So whether you ship Bellarke or Flarke (I ship both on occasion) or whatever, don’t let it stop you from seeing the story unfold and the characters (who are written & portrayed with great depth) amaze you both with their flaws and strengths as human beings.


You can follow me at @OzgeBurcakA for updates or you can subscribe to my newsletter !


DBOXDonating = ♥ Loving

You can make a one-time donation with an amount of your choosing through Paypal to support me and my writing.

donate

